When discouragement tries to bury us…

In the process of recovery from PTSD, depression, or addiction, it’s easy to become overwhelmed and discouraged in the layers of pain and problems of our lives. And worst case scenarios can dominate our minds, compounding the issues we need to sort and heal. We worry about our kids, our finances, and our relationships. Projecting our future based on our current pain dooms us from the start.

So, when we start feeling hopeless, it’s good to remember to surrender each day, each moment of fear into the hands of God. Because when we empty our tired hands into His infinite strength and grace, His love will have its way with us. And one day at a time, our hearts are knit closer to His, and hope replaces discouragement.

There’s a peace takes root in the leading of our true Healer and Savior – Jesus Christ. And no matter what our history tells us, He can make us overcomers. No matter what.

About Lori Lara

I'm 7 years into recovery from PTSD, major depression, and addiction. Even though I've experienced miraculous spiritual healing in my life, I sometimes have to fight my way through new layers of grief and unanswered questions that continue to challenge me. I've come to realize recovery as a life-long journey, and I believe it's worth every frustrated scream and painful tear we endure to find the deeper purposes of life and meaningful relationship with God. It's time well spent to dig for the truth, freedom, and love we were created to enjoy. Love is the only answer to heal our spiritual wounds. Nothing breaks my heart more than hearing stories of people who struggle silently and think they're alone; the truth is we are never alone. My goal is to remain committed to my own recovery while taking with me as many people as I can. I'm inspired by people who share similar stories of recovery and their never-ending and perseverant quest for freedom and healing. I'd love to hear your story and share this journey together... www.lorilara.com
This entry was posted in addiction, Addictions, anxiety, christianity, depression, eating disorders, EMDR, fear, grace, grief work, healing, hope, love, ptsd, recovery, shame, spiritual healing, trauma and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When discouragement tries to bury us…

  1. Lovingly said…. p.s. did you know when someone clicks on your post a message comes up saying your .com site expired July 30th.. and has a spot to ‘dismiss’ or ‘ renew’.. $26 ? I don’t know what it really meant..but thought I would tell you…. Diane

  2. You have no idea how meaningful and on target your words are for me today. Thank you for blessing me with this small measure of Grace.

  3. Patty B says:

    Words of comfort and encouragement for today. Blessings ~

  4. Bonnie Bailey says:

    I just discovered your blog today and I’m wondering if you are still active with it?

    • Lori Lara says:

      Hi, Bonnie. I’m glad you found me. Yes, I’m still active on my blog. :)

      My posting frequency follows my life’s demands. Always wishing for more time to write.

      What about you?

Leave a Reply

