The small things…

ponder the small things copy

Taking these photos of my mom’s flowers has taught me that life is too short to miss the beauty found inside a lily. I wonder how many other treasures I’ve missed because I’m too busy with my to-do list and entirely too focused on planning my future, which may or may not ever happen.

One of my goals is to slow down and savor the miracles that lie all around me TODAY.

Ever felt this way? I’d love to hear about your experience.

About Lori Lara

I'm 7 years into recovery from PTSD, major depression, and addiction. Even though I've experienced miraculous spiritual healing in my life, I sometimes have to fight my way through new layers of grief and unanswered questions that continue to challenge me. I've come to realize recovery as a life-long journey, and I believe it's worth every frustrated scream and painful tear we endure to find the deeper purposes of life and meaningful relationship with God. It's time well spent to dig for the truth, freedom, and love we were created to enjoy. Love is the only answer to heal our spiritual wounds. Nothing breaks my heart more than hearing stories of people who struggle silently and think they're alone; the truth is we are never alone. My goal is to remain committed to my own recovery while taking with me as many people as I can. I'm inspired by people who share similar stories of recovery and their never-ending and perseverant quest for freedom and healing. I'd love to hear your story and share this journey together... www.lorilara.com
This entry was posted in blog, Glioblastoma Multiforme, inspiration, love, mother daughter relationships, spiritual healing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The small things…

  1. My mom will be 92 on Feb. 1. My dad will be 91 in April. It isn’t easy seeing them fighting to keep up, to hang on to mind and body. You know better than I do. But one tribute to you, and your mom, is that I am taking greater care not to let the sweetness of knowing who they were then AND now, be lost in the intense stresses of dealing with hard decisions and realities. You once spoke of being reminded to look up, etc. Thanks for the reminder, every time you post! Blessings!!!!! Diane

    • Oh, how beautiful, Diane. Yes, it’s hard to watch our parents get older and lose health. I’m touched so deeply that you’re present in the sweetness of both past and present. What a gift.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience. My thoughts and prayers are for you and your parents. God’s timing is not ours. But then again, we know so very little, right?

  2. Denise Hisey says:

    I am much better at taking time to listen, really listen, to my kids now. (instead of just “uh huh, uh huh” and thinking about what I need to do next. I enjoy Now. Right Now. It’s lovely!!
    Your mom’s flowers are beautiful, too!

  3. My experience being a senior now is not that I am too busy…but that I had been centered on my own life and struggles for so long, with the depression of so many years….and since being free from it for about 3 years, I began thinking ‘outside’ of ‘me’ and about others…The most important thing I felt was necessary was to at this time be a more important factor in my grand children’s lives. They are actually young adults and while they are beautiful and loving, God is not part of their lives; at least not a recognized part and so I hope to somehow not by my own power, but by the Holy Spirit, to be an influence in this area..That’s the primary reason for moving closer to them and our children… Diane

    • What a blessing for you to move so you can be part of your family, Diane. Your influence is probably more powerful than you realize. There’s nothing like a grandma.

      I’m so glad you worked through your depression. I know how tough that can be…

      Blessings to you…

  4. Nothing has taught me to find the beauty in the moment like going through grief has. When my dad died I began to put more effort into my relationship with my mom. When my teen niece died I learned not to sweat the small stuff with my own children. Life is too short to waste on trivial concerns. Your thoughts remind me of my times of grief. You are so blessed to have had such a godly mom, and she was blessed to have you!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  5. utesmile says:

    You are so right Lori, slow down, look and enjoy the small things in life, everything is precious. When we go through hard times that is always when we realise it and we start really consciously living and do enjoy the small things! I had learnt that earlier in my life when I had a tumor in my head, which was not cancerous but growing and threatening and removed. This was my wakeup call from God. We don’t know what lies ahead of us and we need to trust God, but we can enjoy all the wonderful things God has given us to enjoy life, be content and cherish it.
    Beautiful picture with your mum’s flower!
    I appreciate you being around and thank you for sharing everything!
    with love Ute x

  6. What a beautify ‘card’ with the flower and quote. Thank you for sharing. I love what you have discovered. Through my experience with breast cancer, II have come to understand the beauty of slowing down and being present in the now. There is something very special about flowers that seems to support moving to this place.

  7. laurenpreusz says:

    Lori that is so true. I often get caught up in planning my future and worrying so much about what it holds that I forget to live in the here & now. That’s all we have. It’s so important to slow down and recognize that. Or else one day we will wake up and wonder what happened to our lives and what we did to impact the world. We were so busy worrying about the next day that we forgot to live in the day we were in. I don’t want anymore regrets on the way I spend my time. I have appreciated your blog so very much. Thank you for reminders like this!

  8. Lori ~ you are a gift and a blessing…enjoy the presents of presence…the gift of slowing down to enjoy each moment. Your cards are beautiful xo

  9. It has taken me years but I too have found the importance to enjoy all the little things every day. Blessings – Patty

Leave a Reply

