Why I don’t wish you happiness

Happiness is finding front row parking at the grocery store on a rainy day. Joy is parking at the end of the lot on purpose and appreciating the gift of being able to walk.

Happiness is making more money than we need to pay our bills. Joy is giving sacrificially and trusting God to provide for our needs.

Happiness is when our spouse does exactly what we want. Joy is extending grace and love even when we’re in the right.

Happiness is when our kids are well-mannered, obedient, and thankful for everything we do for them. Joy is wrapping our arms around them in their brattiest moments, honoring the privilege of shaping the minds and hearts of our future generation.

Happiness is finding a dollar. Joy is giving it away.

Happiness is receiving well deserved recognition. Joy is continuing to do our best even when someone else takes the credit.

Happiness is my mom in perfect health. Joy is helping her recover from brain cancer.

Happiness is natural and human. Joy is supernatural and a gift from God.

Wanting happiness leads to comfort addiction, self-centered neediness, chronic disappointment, and a focus on controlling circumstances. It is fickle and fleeting.

Pursuing joy (God) leads to depth, maturity, service, and surrender to God even when we don’t know what He’s doing. It is stable and dependable.

For all these reasons, I don’t pray for happiness. I pray for joy.

May our hearts overflow with purpose, service, and abundance of everything good and permanent. And may we find joy even in the midst of our scary and uncertain circumstances because we know our lives are about so much more than ourselves.

“…And do not be grieved, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” Nehemiah 8:10

About Lori Lara

I'm 7 years into recovery from PTSD, major depression, and addiction. Even though I've experienced miraculous spiritual healing in my life, I sometimes have to fight my way through new layers of grief and unanswered questions that continue to challenge me. I've come to realize recovery as a life-long journey, and I believe it's worth every frustrated scream and painful tear we endure to find the deeper purposes of life and meaningful relationship with God. It's time well spent to dig for the truth, freedom, and love we were created to enjoy. Love is the only answer to heal our spiritual wounds. Nothing breaks my heart more than hearing stories of people who struggle silently and think they're alone; the truth is we are never alone. My goal is to remain committed to my own recovery while taking with me as many people as I can. I'm inspired by people who share similar stories of recovery and their never-ending and perseverant quest for freedom and healing. I'd love to hear your story and share this journey together... www.lorilara.com
This entry was posted in blog, brain cancer, christianity, healing, hope, inspiration, love. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Why I don’t wish you happiness

  1. lumatiza says:

    Wonderfully said and such a good message to begin this new year! Thank you for this.

  2. Beautiful post ~ what a perfect perspective ~ May 2013 bring you joy, health, wealth and beautiful memories with your family (especially with your Mom). Sending you heartfelt hugs. Keep shining and inspiring us all! xo

  3. Fabulously Post! So true! I pray for your Joy also!

  4. Instead of happiness, i wish you live. :)

    Have a blessed night!

    Kitty G

  5. Man…..you are good! BTW, your post went out this morning. Thank you so much for contributing! You are amazing. Hugs. Me.

  6. Denise Hisey says:

    Wonderful!!! For me, Joy is deep, constant, and healing…Happiness is elusive and temporary.
    Love your post girlfriend!!

  7. waynemali says:

    I love this post, I relate so much to the side of happiness through pursuing addiction, now I’m understanding the joy God can bring. I enjoyed reading your story on Lisa’s blog, inspiring.
    Wayne

    • Hi, Wayne. Can’t wait to read more of your story. God is so different to me now that I’m in recovery. I used to only fear Him, but getting to know Him and feeling His love have become life itself to me. Keep going!

  8. utesmile says:

    Fantstic post, Love it… Love and joy Ute x

  9. Yes! Here’s to JOY! What a beautiful post…thank you.

  10. robin claire says:

    Hi Lori,
    This is wonderful! Something I will soon not forget. I wrote something called “Opposites” that sort of is along this vein too.
    http://robinclaire.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/opposites/
    robin
    ps – did I say how wonderful a post this was?

  11. Wonderful post – it has touched me in a special way, I have pursuing God’s joy for awhile now and never want to stop. I also wanted to let you know I read your testimony today on optimisicgladness you are such an inspiration. May God continue to bless your life and thank you for sharing your story, I know it will lead to healing to many who read it. Patty

  12. scase says:

    Well said. Your blog is beautifully written and fantastically real and refreshing. Blessings in the new year!

  13. amerslou says:

    Happened upon your blog through your comments on another one, and so glad I found you! Great insights, and I look forward to reading more!

  14. Praying that you experience much joy in this new year, Jumpingonclouds!
    God bless you!
    Maria

Leave a Reply

